ENCATC Research Award

Who won the 2020 ENCATC Research Award?

On the evening of 11 November, ENCATC announced Rocío Nogales to be the winner of the 2020 ENCATC Research Award on Cultural Policy and Cultural Management edition at the occasion of the annual Ceremony held during the 2020 ENCATC Digital Congress “Cultural management and policy in a post-digital world – navigating uncertainty” (3-11 November).


There were four recent PhD recipients as finalists for this only international Award recognising excellence in cultural policy and cultural management research. Selected by an international jury panel gathering distinguish academics and researchers from six countries, the finalists are authors of a practical based research that sheds light on contemporary cultural issues and challenges by analysing them and offering policy solutions. The three other finalists who were in the running for the 2020 ENCATC Research Award were: 

  • Ali FitzGibbon for her PhD “The Artist in the Room: An investigation of the independent artist as stakeholder in the decision-making of subsidised theatre in the UK” obtained from the Queen’s University Belfast in the United Kingdom;
  • Eman Kandil for her PhD “The EcoMuseums: An Approach for the Preservation of Heritage Attributes in Egypt’s Historic Urbanism” obtained from the Menoufia University in Egypt;
  • Anastasiia Sedova for her PhD “Spaces ‘Out of Religious Use’ and ecclesiastic architecture as marketable real estate assets: A potential solution for Russia’s abandoned religious heritage artifacts”, obtained from the Politecnico di Milano in Italy.

The winning PhD researcher will have her work published in the ENCATC Book Series on Cultural Management and Cultural Policy Education, by international publishing house P.I.E. Peter Lang.

ENCATC Research Award Jury President: 

  • Francesca Imperiale, University of Salento, Italy

ENCATC Research Award Jury Members:

  • Jaime Alberto Ruiz Gutiérrez, Universidad de los Andes at Bogota, Colombia
  • Elodie Bordat Chauvin, Institut d’Etudes Européennes, Université Paris 8 – CRESPPA LabTop, France
  • Anita Kangas, University of Jyväskylä, Finland
  • Jerry C Y Liu, National Taiwan University of the Arts, Taiwan
  • Richard Maloney, New York University, United States
  • Alan Salzenstein, DePaul University in Chicago, United States

Launched in 2014, this prestigious recognition aims to stimulate academic research in the field of cultural policy and cultural management with an emphasis on its applied implications. The ENCATC Award also has the ambition to contribute to the process of creating a network of scholars who are competent in doing comparative research projects in cultural policy and cultural management. Learn more about the Award, the Jury, and past editions here.